About The Philharmonic

The Belleville Philharmonic Society was founded on November 19, 1866. With their first concert performed on January 26, 1867. The Society’s first conductor was Theodore Decker, who began the annual schedule of concerts that is unbroken to this day–making the Belleville Philharmonic Orchestra the nation’s second oldest symphony orchestra in continuous operation. The original orchestra was comprised of talented volunteer musicians who made distinguished contributions to the community in a wide range of vocations. The same can be said of the Society’s various ensembles today.

The Philharmonic Chorale was formed for the Society’s centennial in 1966 and was first directed by Charles Laughlin. The chorale performs on its own and with the Philharmonic Orchestra, often teaming with other choruses in the St. Louis metropolitan area.

Retired Conductors
Carmine Ficocelli and Robert J. Hachmeister 1974-1975
Laurent Torno 1971-1974
Robert Schieber 1969-1971
William Schatzkammer 1963-1969
 Max Stendel 1961-1963
George Tuerck 1954-1961
Rudolph Magin 1944-1953
Don Foster 1938-1943
Charles Muckensturm 1935-1938
John W. Marsh 1923-1935
Frank Macke x1921-1922
Carl Magin 1919-1921
Frederich Fischer1914-1919
Fred A. Kern 1911-1914
Adolph Hansing 1910-1911
Gustave Neubert 1885-1910
Julius Liese 1869-1885
Theodore Decker 1866-1869